PROTECTED INNOCENCE CHALLENGE
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California law provides minimal penalties for prosecuting FINAL SCORE
demand. The human trafficking law protects victims of
child sex trafficking without requiring proof of force, fraud 6 5 . 5
or coercion. However paying for sex acts with a minor
and benefitting financially from assisting or enabling sex
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trafficking are not punishable under the human trafficking
law.
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CRIMINALIZATION OF DOMESTIC MINOR SEX TRAFFICKING

California’s human trafficking law criminalizes sex trafficking, imposing enhanced penalties where the victim is a minor, and does not require force,
fraud, or coercion when a minor is used in a commercial sex act. California CSEC laws include: procurement of a minor, disorderly conduct (which

includes soliciting prostitution, with heightened penalties when a minor is involved), pimping and pandering (when a minor is involved), abduction
of minor for prostitution, and employment of minor in pornography. Neither of California’s prostitution-related statutes refer to the human traf-
ficking statute for prosecuting or victim protections nor provide an affirmative defense to victims of domestic minor sex trafficking. Predicate acts
under the criminal profiteering statute include human trafficking and CSEC offenses.

CRIMINAL PROVISIONS FOR DEMAND

The human traflicking law cannot be used to prosecute demand. A buyer can
be prosecuted under the general solicitation law (disorderly conduct) which dis-
tinguishes between buying sex with a minor and buying sex with an adult by
providing an increased penalty when the defendant knew or should have known
the person solicited was a minor. However, the penalty fails to reflect the serious-
ness of the offense and a mistake of age defense is specifically allowed. The statute
on contact or communication with a minor with intent to commit an illegal sex
act statute could apply to buyers who use the Internet or other electronic com-
munications for this purpose. Buyers convicted of any crime may be required to
pay restitution to a victim. Child pornography may be seized and destroyed, and
buyers whose property is deemed a nuisance in connection with prostitution-
related offenses could face asset forfeiture. Buyers of sex with minors must reg-
ister as sex offenders if convicted of contact or communication with minor with
intent to commit a crime if sexually motivated; however, buyers convicted of
disorderly conduct even when it involves a minor, will not be required to register.
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Disorderly Conduct Misdemeanor or l\l\ﬁm‘ 2 datys Max. ®
(§ 647(m)) Felony UP IO 610,000
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Disorderly Conduct . Max. 6 Max.
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All criminal penalties are statutory; many states also have sentencing guidelines that are not codified which affect sentencing.

CRIMINAL PROVISIONS
FOR TRAFFICKERS

Human trafficking of a minor is punishable by five, eight, or
twelve years imprisonment, a fine which will generally not
exceed $500,000, and a potential fine enhancement up to
$1,000,000. Procurement of a minor, employment of a minor
in child pornography, and abduction of a minor for prostitu-
tion are punishable by up to one year imprisonment and/or
a fine up to $2,000; however, abduction of a minor for pros-
titution is also punishable by a possible additional fine up to
$20,000. Preparing images of child pornography and distribu-
tion of child pornography are punishable by up to one year
imprisonment and/or a fine up to $2,000 and $1,000, respec-
tively, or, for distribution, imprisonment and/or a fine up to
$10,000. Contact or communication with a minor with intent
to commit a crime might apply to traffickers who use the In-
ternet or other electronic communications to commit certain
sex offenses against a minor. Traffickers convicted of human
trafficking face mandatory restitution, while those convicted
of other crimes may be ordered to make restitution. Traffickers
whose property is deemed a nuisance in connection with pros-
titution-related offenses and traffickers who engage in criminal
profiteering with predicate offenses of employment of a minor
in pornography, pimping or pandering of a minor, and hu-
man trafficking could face asset forfeiture. Traffickers convicted
under the human trafficking law or most CSEC offenses must
register as sex offenders, but not if convicted of pimping of a
minor. Convictions for human trafficking or CSEC offenses do
not establish grounds for termination of parental rights, leav-
ing children of traffickers at potential continuing risk.



PROTECTIVE PROVISIONS FOR THE CHILD VICTIMS

State laws offer limited protection to victims of sex trafficking or CSEC crimes. While the human
trafficking law prohibits a defense based on consent of the minor, most CSEC laws do not, leav-
ing this a potential defense for offenders. Prostitution laws apply to minors under 18 and juvenile
sex trafficking victims face criminalization for commercial sex acts committed as a result of their
victimization. As a result, CSEC victims could be classified as wards, leading to different response
protocols and placements, including detention. However, juvenile sex trafficking victims may
receive multidisciplinary services through family justice centers, even if the juvenile chooses not
to cooperate with law enforcement. A victim found to be abused (defined to include commercial
sexual exploitation through prostitution and child pornography) might receive protection through
child protective services and  child welfare is authorized to serve commercially sexually exploited
children, which is defined to include sex trafficked children and children who exchange sex for food
or shelter if the child’s parent or guardian failed to, or was unable to, protect the child. Crime vic-
tims’ compensation is available for victims of CSEC offenses, and California law prohibits human
trafficking victims’ claims from being denied solely because the victim did not report the crime.
Victim-friendly trial procedures are available to human trafficking victims, including confidential-
ity for communications between a victim and caseworker and for the location of traflicking shelters.
However, only victims of sexual offenses under age 13 may testify via closed-circuit television. Hu-
man trafficking victims receive protection under California’s “rape shield” law, but CSEC victim-
witnesses remain unprotected from the trauma of cross-examination at trials of their traffickers.
Victims of human trafficking and most CSEC offenses may have up to two support persons present
during their testimony and are provided with special precautions for their comfort and support
during trial. Juvenile records may be sealed five years after the jurisdiction of the court terminates
or any time after the person turns 18, provided the juvenile “has not been convicted of a felony or
misdemeanor involving moral turpitude” and has been satisfactorily rehabilitated. Restitution and
a civil remedy are available to victims of human trafficking. Prosecutions for human trafficking and
most CSEC crimes must be brought within three years of the crimes; however, prosecutions under
employment of a minor in child pornography may be brought within 10 years. A civil action by
a human trafficking victim must commence within five years of when the victim turns 18 or was
freed from the trafficking situation.

CRIMINAL JUSTICE TOOLS FOR INVESTIGATION
AND PROSECUTION

California requires law enforcement officers with field or investigative duties to complete training
on human trafficking. California does not allow single party consent to audiotaping. Judges may
authorize wiretapping in investigations of human trafficking but not CSEC investigations. No law
expressly authorizes the use of a decoy to investigate prostitution of children or the Internet in the
investigation of child sex trafficking cases, but law enforcement may use the Internet to investigate
human trafficking or CSEC crimes relying on the sending harmful matter to children via the In-
ternet and lewd or lascivious acts involving children statutes. California has established a statewide
reporting and response system and law enforcement must report missing and located children.

CRIMINAL PROVISIONS
FOR FACILITATORS

Facilitators do not face prosecution
under the human trafficking law for
benefitting financially from sex traf-
ficking. Procurement of a minor ap-
plies to facilitators and is punishable
by up to one year imprisonment
and/or a fine up to $2,000. Facili-
tators also may be convicted under
pimping of a minor, punishable by
a possible fine up to $10,000 and
three, six, or eight years imprison-
ment (minor under 16) or three,
four, or six years imprisonment (mi-
nor 16-18). A conviction for any
crime may result in a victim restitu-
tion order. Facilitators whose prop-
erty is deemed a nuisance in con-
nection with prostitution-related
offenses or who engage in criminal
profiteering activity with predicate
offenses of employment of a mi-
nor in pornography and pimping
where a minor is involved may face
asset forfeiture. Advertising child
pornography is punishable by two,
three, or four years imprisonment,
or by one year imprisonment and/
or a fine up to $50,000, while pro-
moting employing a minor in child
pornography is punishable by up
to one year imprisonment and/or a
fine up to $2,000, and selling child
pornography is punishable by up to
one year imprisonment and/or a fine
not to exceed $1,000, or imprison-
ment and/or a fine up to $10,000.
No laws in California address sex
tourism.

The Report Card is based on the Protected Innocence Legislative Framework, an analysis of state laws performed by the
American Center for Law & Justice and Shared Hope International, and sets a national standard of protection against

domestic minor sex trafficking. To access the Protected Innocence Legislative Framework Methodology, each completed
Report Card, and foundational analysis and recommendations, please visit: www.sharedhope.org.
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